Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Putting off things

leave a comment »

It’s sad, really.

Writing prompt: What’s the most important thing you’re putting off? And why haven’t you done it yet? What do you need to make it happen?

I’m good at putting things off. I can’t say what the most important thing is, because priorities change. When I have to do something that I really don’t want to do, like cleaning the house, it’s almost as if a physical barrier comes up in front of me. Back in my school days, whenever I had a paper to write, the opposite was the case. I cleaned the house instead. Go figure.

Actually, it’s not just the cleaning I dread, but also my web editor duties, among other things. I have learned how to beat it: I just get started. I know that once I get started, I’m unstoppable. The sun sets and rises again without me noticing it. I get so absorbed in the task in front of me that I lose track of time – or I suddenly get fed up. The funny thing is that when I’m done with a task I thought would be unpleasant, I always wonder what I was dreading. Until next time.

In my professional life, I’m super-productive and always deliver on time. I need to find a way to apply my working techniques to my private life, especially to the cleaning. If it doesn’t work, I can always leave the cleaning job to professionals. I just need to put those DVDs into the stand first, and those books into the bookshelves and… well, you get the picture.

Written by Solveig Hansen

January 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Share your thoughts:

