Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Half full and half empty glasses

leave a comment »

It’s just an amount of liquid.

Writing prompt: Are you an optimist, a pessimist, or something else?

I’m an optimist in the sense that I believe things will work out for the best. If they don’t, they don’t. In that sense I’m a realist. I forget disappointments, although not always easily.

Being pessimistic seems like a dark place to be. I do allow myself to worry like crazy when worrying is due, but not days ahead, because unnecessary worrying drains you to the point of passivity. Thinking back, many of the things I worried about never happened, and I can’t even remember what the worries were.

My optimism was an asset when I started my own business – the best thing I’ve ever done. In the beginning, I got discouraged when the customers were few. It took hard work to make myself noticed out there, but today I have plenty to do, all thanks to Internet. Internet really boosted my optimism.

I admire the entrepreneurial spirit because it’s about creativity, optimism and pragmatism. If you look up in the Yellow Pages, every enterprise listed there was founded by someone with a dream for the future. We shouldn’t forget the spirit in which those companies were created.

I have given the half empty and half full glasses some thought. Some say that an optimist sees the glass as half full, while the pessimist sees it as half empty. When I fill a glass of water, I say it’s half full when I have filled half the glass. When I have drunk half the glass, it’s half empty. Filling, emptying, half full, half empty. Basically, it’s just an amount of liquid.

Written by Solveig Hansen

February 1, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Share your thoughts:

