Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

My neighbor Z looked after me

leave a comment »

She could have fed me properly.

Writing prompt: Write a story about yourself, told from your neighbor’s perspective.

Hi. My name is Susy. I live with my two dads one floor above my neighbor Z.

One time my homestaying dad was injured in a bike accident and ended up in hospital, while my other dad was on vacation. They had no choice but to ask Z to look after me.

You could tell that she had absolutely no idea how to handle me. Take the food, for instance. My dads give me junk food whenever I ask. Z, she seemed sickened at the thought of touching that food. Instead, she bought some fancy and healthy stuff that actually tasted good, I give her that. But I didn’t get it NEARLY often enough, compared to what I was used to.

The salmon tasted SO good. One day I hugged Z. She seemed moved. But she never really cuddled properly with me like my dads do. She didn’t like poo, either.

After three weeks, my vacation dad returned. “Daddy is home,” Z said in an overly familiar tone, like we had bonded or something. I just turned my back on them and went upstairs.

So I finally got my junk food back.

My dad, he didn’t even say thank you, he didn’t even bring her one small chocolate from the plane. I was so embarrassed. I wanted to tell him, DAD, but what can you do? I’m just a little cat.

Bye,
Susy

Written by Solveig Hansen

February 4, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Share your thoughts:

