Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

I lost my handwriting

leave a comment »

Now I’m a fontoholic.

Writing prompt: Describe the one who got away. It could be a person, a thing, an idea, anything.

Today I read about handwriting classes for adults. Apparently, our handwriting skills have deteriorated over the last twenty years or so.

I used to have a beautiful handwriting. Somewhere along the way I lost it and now I can hardly read my own notes. It seems that the faster the computers became, the more impatient I became, and the sloppier my handwriting became because I couldn’t slow down enough to write properly. I remember my father writing. He seemed to have all the time in the world and had a neat handwriting. When he passed away, his sister gave me a letter he wrote from a Nazi camp in 1945. The dire surroundings did not affect his stylish handwriting. Me, I can’t write fast enough.

I became a fontoholic instead. I have hundreds of fonts and it takes a long time to find the one with the right feel. If I were to write a book, I would search carefully to find the perfect font to match the story. When you find it, you just know.

I have a thing about old typewriter fonts. It goes back to the old black and white movies where journalists worked in smoke-filled offices banging away on their typewriters. I love those old classics.

Typewriter Fonts

Fonts are fun to play with. I don’t think I will take one of those handwriting classes, although it would be nice to understand the notes I jot down on all those Post-Its…

Written by Solveig Hansen

February 6, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Share your thoughts:

