Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Age doesn’t really matter

leave a comment »

Writing prompt: Have you ever lied about your age? Why? Do you think they believed you?

I have never lied about my age. Well, I might have said that I was 12 when I was actually 3 or 4. No one believed me. I just wanted to grow up as soon as possible. I never liked to be a child.

Funny, this age business. When we are 16, we say we are 18. When we are middle-aged, we would like to be perceived as younger than we are. When we’re old, we proudly announce that we’ll turn 90 next month. For a child, it’s a huge difference between being 4 and 4-1/2. Have you ever heard a senior say that he or she is 78-1/2?

When I was 21, I thought people over 25 were really mature. 25 was for me the threshold into real adulthood. I know about a 19 year old guy who dated a 21 year old girl. He earned his buddies’ respect because he dated such a mature woman.

I was a big fan of TCL’s What Not To Wear. They gave really good everyday tips for hairstyle and clothes for all age groups, which leads me to the conclusion: We can look fab at any age. When we do, age really doesn’t matter.

Written by Solveig Hansen

February 14, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Share your thoughts:

