Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

I’m “WordPressed”

leave a comment »

About how I fiddled to create a new WordPress blog to substitute an old website.

I was asked to update a messy website, full of obsolete stuff. I chose to create the new site as a WordPress blog, to make it double as an usual website and a blog. It gives my customer a better way to interact with their audience.

My main requirements:
1. The blog should be on a different account than my own main blog account, but be managed by me
2. My customer shouldn’t have to log on themselves to make posts
3. A clean template

Solutions:
1. I experimented with the blog and tried out different features on my own main account. As I don’t want the customer to log on there, I wanted to move the blog to a different account. I created a new account with another of my email addresses and transferred the blog to the new account using the “Manage Blogs” option. Then I discovered that it was inconvenient to have two different accounts to manage. You have to log in and out all the time. The solution was to add my main email address as admin under “Users” on the new account. Now I can manage both accounts from my main account.

2. I finally got to try the Post by Email function. Under “Manage Blogs”, there’s an option to enable this function. When you do, an email address is created for you. When you make the email post, the subject line becomes the headline and the body text becomes the text in the post. If you have an address block at the bottom of your email, it’s automatically deleted and doesn’t  appear in the blog post.

I wanted more functionality and wondered if it was possible to post directly to a specific category. WordPress had thought about that, too. You just embed [category Cat2, Cat2] in the email message, and the post is published in the right categories. You can also add tags in the email. Read more under Shortcodes.

My customer will be able to post from their email system without having to log on the blog, and without having to register for their own WordPress account. They do have to log on, however, if they want to edit the post, or they can have me do the revision for them.

When you add a post, you can automatically tweet it. I’ve yet to figure out whether it’s possible to tweet to the customer’s Twitter account instead of mine.

3. I chose the “Clean Home” template, but I need to buy access to edit the CSS with the right colors and font sizes. I will use the same color scheme as the one I used on another of the customer’s websites, to keep things coherent. Then I can link to and from and it will look as if you’re on the same site. The two sites will complement each other.

Some of the free WordPress templates are quite old, and I wish they would add some more modern ones. Personally, I like the clean journalistic templates. I also wish it was possible to buy one of the WordPress compatible templates at TemplateMonster and use it on WordPress.com.

All in all, I’m officially impressed by WordPress – I’m WordPressed.

Written by Solveig Hansen

February 20, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Posted in WordPress

Share your thoughts:

