Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Writer in the making

leave a comment »

Writing prompt: What’s your hidden talent? What’s the skill or ability you have people are always surprised to learn you possess? What hidden talent do you wish you had?

In Lifelong learning, I wrote about three life-changing moments. The first one is when we take our first steps, the second is when we learn to read, and the third one is when we feel that we’ve reached as far as we can in our current profession and need new challenges. I wrote, “Maybe an untapped talent surfaces just to remind us that there are unused potentials.”

Sometimes it’s merely about taking our working skills and use them in a different way. Some people are for instance told that they could be good teachers. Other times we can make our hobby a living. In creativity-killing environments, we might have few opportunities to express ourselves, or any attempt to excel in something might be considered a threat by others. Mediocrity and authoritarian hierarchies are major creativity-assassins.

Internet has unleashed our creative flow. We write, develop, discuss and present ourselves in a global world. If there was ever a moment when I felt that my true potential shone through, it was the day I published my first website. I took to Internet immediately, like I’d been waiting for it.

Then there is writing. I’ve worked with words all my life, mostly other’s. I wouldn’t call my wish for writing my own stories a hidden talent, but rather a dormant one. Now the inner stories are so loud that I cannot ignore them anymore.

At the moment, I’m in the process of exploring various types of storytelling to find the form that I feel comfortable with. So far I’ve discovered that the creation of characters and their stories are appealing to me. Writing a several hundred pages long novel: not so appealing. I feel drawn to flash fiction, so that’s what I want to explore in more detail. With the limitation in the number of words, events have to be hinted in the story. Ernest Hemingway allegedly wrote this six word story: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” It sets off a whole train of thoughts, doesn’t it?

In the process, what if a poet surfaces from somewhere deep inside? Now, that I would call a hidden talent coming out.

Written by Solveig Hansen

March 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Share your thoughts:

