Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Hey-ho Moments

leave a comment »

[shanty]

Truck wheel

Image courtesy of Keerati / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

True, I never sailed the high seas
I never weighed anchor,
or hey-hoed
while loading bananas in Rio
or unloading them in Rotterdam

But I’ve shared many a bottle of rum
and lost more than I won
in smoky joints
in Cherbourg and Manchester

I’ve gazed at the stars
on the shores of Normandy

I’ve had my share of nightly blues
at lonely truck stops,
and met a sweetheart or two
on the ferry
between Dover and Calais

That’s worth a hey-ho

 
(c) 2013- Z for short.

 

Inspired by the writing prompt: Sea shanty

Written by Solveig Hansen

April 3, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Posted in NaPoWriMo 2013, Poems

Tagged with

Share your thoughts:

