Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

A Writer’s Cave

with 2 comments

[proverb]

In the bittersweet world of words
I cannot escape because
they were entrusted to me
when my destiny was carved out,

        I sip coffee from mugs
        with city names on them,
        while sketchy characters
        on yellow post-its
        put their lives
        in my hands
        and await their destiny.

This is my hermit hole,
where I rule and
swing open doors
to new worlds.

 
(c) 2013- Z for short.

Prompt: Choose a proverb and use the first three words as search term in a search engine. Collect words and phrases from the results and use them as inspiration for a new poem.

I chose the proverb The door swings both ways. Among the search results were the lyrics of a song of the same title by Herman’s Hermits: Everyone’s life is bittersweet / It’s a door that opens wide / And no man can call himself complete / Till he’s seen it from both sides

Written by Solveig Hansen

April 28, 2013 at 12:55 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really love what you’ve created here! Fantastic! Great imagery too :D

    Like

    yrenaidsipsiwn

    April 28, 2013 at 1:33 am

    • Thank you! I’m pleased with the imagery myself – finally got it right. :-)

      Like

      Solveig H

      April 28, 2013 at 11:01 am


Share your thoughts:

