Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Nightingale

leave a comment »

NaPoWriMo did not exactly make it easy for us today. They challenged us to write a tritina, which is a shorter version of the sestina. The tritina has three stanzas, each with three lines, plus a final concluding line. The three end words of each line are repeated in the stanzas, in the pattern of ABC, CAB, BCA. In the final line, all three words appear.

My tritina is about a nightingale on a mission. I changed tense from “sing” to “sang” and “wake” to “woke” at the end. That’s the point of rules, to break them.

 
NIGHTINGALE

I muted my voice and would not sing
at night on the old lady’s window sill,
worried she might wake.

She used to wake
at night and ask, Why don’t you sing,
nightingale on my window sill?

So I sang to her on the window sill
the last night, the one without a wake.
Throughout the night till early morning hours I sang.

I woke the angels and sang her into heaven. Then I left the window sill.

 
(c) Zol H, 2016

glopo2016button1

Written by Solveig Hansen

April 7, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Posted in NaPoWriMo 2016, Poems

Tagged with ,

Share your thoughts:

