Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

A giant leap

leave a comment »

Day 18, and NaPoWriMo says: “Write a poem that incorporates ‘the sound of home.’ Think back to your childhood, and the figures of speech and particular ways of talking that the people around you used, and which you may not hear anymore.” I chose to write about the moment I cracked the reading code.

 
A GIANT LEAP

Some moments in life are more pivotal than others. One is when we take our first steps and stand proudly on our own two feet, ready to conquer the world. Another is when we learn to read. I was five when I finally figured out what the words in the books said. I remember how frustrated I had been because I knew all the letters, but I couldn’t combine them into words.

     Then poof,
     the door flung open,
     letters formed into words,
     words formed into stories

     Letter-word-story
     a mighty trinity

You know how it is when the fog lifts and you suddenly see the vast landscape around you, or when you draw back the curtains in the morning to have a first look over a new city… that’s how I felt. It was a life-changing moment. I became literate from one second to the next, literally.

     One instant just an earthly child,
     the next an explorer
     in the new world that opened up before me

     I know exactly what Neil A. must have felt
     the moment he put his foot on the lunar surface

     A giant leap. Nothing less.

 
The first thing I read was a Donald Duck magazine. I lay flat on my back.

 
Some hard facts
According to an UNESCO study, the number of children and adolescents who are out of school is on the rise, and grew to 124 million in 2013. 1 in 11 children is out of school, totaling 59 million children. 24 million children will never enter a classroom.

glopo2016button1

Written by Solveig Hansen

April 18, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Posted in NaPoWriMo 2016

Tagged with ,

Share your thoughts:

