Z for short

"To write more, write more." This is my writing notepad.

Sonnets are difficult

leave a comment »

NaPoWriMo day 23. Sonnet is today’s topic, and I am really not there yet. “Don’t try to write like Shakespeare” is a good advice for anyone who wants to write sonnets. David B. Axelrod at poetrydoctor.org says that the “test of a contemporary sonnet is to follow the form precisely, but make it sound like normal, conversational speech.” He says we should not go for easy rhymes, but rather rhymes/words that express what we mean. So, I am sweating away trying to come up with 14 good lines, each with 10 syllables, and a rhyme pattern of a-b-a-b c-d-c-d e-f-e-f g-g.

My not yet finished sonnet is called “Reassembly.” I look at my mirror image and she looks coldly back. With one swift look at me, she calls my bluff and sees that I am not living my life to my fullest potential. I scream, she screams and the mirror breaks. “Scattered fragments of myself all over.” I cannot “piece them together as they used to be.” I have to find my real purpose in life to be able to “glue me back to life.” I am not the only one inspired by Dylan Thomas’s Do not go gentle into that good night. My sonnet ends with this reference to Thomas: “No, Dylan T, I will not rave and rage, / but gentle go through life towards old age.”

Clichés, I know. This is ruddy difficult.

 
glopo2016button1

Written by Solveig Hansen

April 23, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Posted in NaPoWriMo 2016, Poems

Tagged with ,

Share your thoughts:

